Cassyette – September Rain


I was, today, Sunday for me, going to be working overtime and was unsure about how I was going to fit this new music review in. Instead, I have opted not to work today, cos I’ve worked my arse off this week (already done a whole extra shift this week!) with a good chunk of that taking place yesterday. So, what I’m saying is, thanks to my decision to keep my work-life balance semi-healthy, you lot get a new music review this week! Here’s hoping it can help distract you from some of the less cheerful news we’ve had of late.

A pic of Cassyette for ya.

I don’t know if you recall, but a while back I did a new music review of a song by Cassyette, Petrichor, and then another one called Mayhem. Given that she has a new release this week, I opted not to scroll very far on the list and just pick this one from near the top.

My initial thoughts are that this song is a lot shoutier than I had expected when I saw the name. I’m not entirely sure why, but truth be told, it’s been a while since I had a listen to any of her other works, like the aforementioned, or Dear Goth, which made it onto my personal playlist. It doesn’t start shouty though, in fact, it starts fairly normally, with a pair of guitars, one of which is playing a fairly speedy acoustic sounding strumming sound, and a more electric sounding one playing a riff that I can’t quite stand – there is, though, something about it that sounds familiar. The lyrics kick in at the same time as the drums and together, they accompany the guitar nicely, though I feel like the best part of the song comes when the drums and vocals are the main focus point. Cassyette is clearly a competent singer, the drummer knows how to do their thing and together they’re making musical magic.

Magic, clowns, Sad Girl Summer.

I think, perhaps, this is a statement about British weather. Typically, the weather takes a turn for the worse in September, as evidenced by some of the more drastic storms and downpours that we’ve experienced just this last week – though I know those of you that haven’t been here in the UK these last few weeks will just have to take my word for it. The fact of the matter is, September marks the end of summer, most years, and it’s a very transitional period in the country – more so this year than most, funnily enough, given the multitude of things that are changing this month. More realistically, it’s a song about attempting to resolve one’s own mental health issues, using the change in season as an opportunity to try and ‘wash away’ the issues of the past, to escape from the Sad Girl Summer, of which she has sang previously, not that I’ve listened to that song personally. Managed to slip by me, that one.

The real measure of music is whether it is entertaining, or makes you think, cos they’re the two things that songs should do, really – one, the other, or both. In this case, I feel like it’s meant to be more entertaining than thoughtful and there is a certain entertainment aspect to the whole thing that works reasonably well for the sound. The rock feel for the later portions of the song, particularly the centre third, is something I can get behind. It’s not a perfect song – the electric guitar I mentioned before is still somewhat grating, to me, but I can understand why some might enjoy it. I’m not a big fan of the angry screaming-shouting style of singing, either, but that’s just me. I’m well aware that a lot of people love it, it just doesn’t do it for me.

Not that it matters, but she comes across as a conventionally attractive woman with a non-conventional look and something about that is interesting to me.

At the end of the day, it’s a solid song, overall and perhaps, for those of you looking for something with a bit more angst for your buck right now, it’ll be worth a listen. The cut out at the end sort of works well, I think, for that whole feeling – let out the anger, draw a line under it, a sentiment I think we should all consider seriously at the moment.

7/10

-TG

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.